CNS Results - 5/17/2014

posted May 19, 2014, 7:49 AM by Admin RMLRA   [ updated May 19, 2014, 7:51 AM ]
Danny Medina wins 25 Lap Feature at Colorado National Speedway

Veteran Legends Car driver Danny Medina of Colorado Springs made his first start of the season a winning one as he held off Chris Eggleston and Kyle Clegg for the victory. Those three cars finished within a car length or two of each other. Danny Medina has been racing his number fifteen Legends car since 1998. Wayne Barlock Jr, Mike Gallegos and Chris Cooper were all in a position to win if the opportunity came into play. The top three cars finished within .208 of each other.

It turned out to be a great night for racing as the threat of rain did not materialize. A lot of sunshine and only after intermission did the storm clouds start to move in. Twenty-eight cars were on hand for the races. It appeared that all the cars went through the races last night without damage and will be ready to race the three day Rocky Mountain Legends Shootout next week end. Do try to race this three day event. Several cars told me that they will not be able to race on Friday and Saturday. High school graduation comes into play next weekend.

Patrick Manchego and Austyn Radosta both of Pueblo made their season debut with us Saturday evening.

Are there to many cars on the track for the feature races at CNS? Some conversation in the pits last night indicated there was more then enough traffic on the track to keep the front leaders busy as they drove to the checkered flag. Drivers in the cars at the back of the field did a good job listening to Jacob on the Raceceiver and moving down on the track to let the faster cars go bye. Just remember that CNS is the only track that
we race at where their track officials would like the slower cars to move to the bottom of the track when the passions flag is waved at them. My comment about the races last night will be that everyone did a good job racing, and as mentioned above all cars should be ready to race next weekend.

Thanks John !!!

As most of you know John Ulander announced his resignation as President this past week. John told me on a phone call to him that he has been working seven days a week and plus his other duties as a husband and many hours as President of the RMLRA. He told me he was basically worn out and needed a lot of rest. Thanks John for all your work as RMLRA President and the many hours that you spent keeping the club organized. Dan Clegg, Vice President will take over as President and keep the club rolling.

25 Lap Feature unofficial results
1. Medina
2. Eggleston
3. Clegg
4. Barlock JR
5. Gallegos
6. Cooper
7. Dellarco
8. Stewart JR (R)
9. Stewart
10. Pachello
11. Witherwax
12. B. Seip
13. Adkins
14. Riddell
15. C. Brunker
16. Coughlin
17. Webber
18. Pennetta
19. Savage
20. Blevins
21. Adkison
22. Van Matre (R)
23. Mein
24. Manchego
25. McBride
26. Radosta (R)
27. D. Brunker (R)
28. Pechman

10 Lap Trophy Dash
1. C. Brunker
2. McBride
3. Blevins
4. Riddell
5. Webber
6. Coughlin
7. Adkinson
8. Mein
9. Savage
10. Pennetta
11. Van Matre
12. Radosta (R)
13. D. Brunker (R)
14. Manchego

10 Lap Fast Dash
1. Eggleston
2. Clegg
3. Barlock
4. Gallegos
5. Cooper
6. Medina
7. Dellarco
8. Pechman
9. Stewart JR (R)
10. Pachello
11. Stewart
12. Witherwax
13. B. Seip
14. Adkins

Top 5 Qualifiers
1. Eggleston 18.655
2. Medina 18.788
3. Clegg 18.815
4. Gallegos 18.828
5. Barlock JR 18.907