I-25 Results - 2012-JUL-28

posted Jul 30, 2012, 10:26 AM by Admin RMLRA   [ updated Jul 30, 2012, 10:26 AM ]

Rocky Mountain Legends Racing Association July 29, 2012

Weather in Pueblo Saturday was very warm early in the day and the racing was very good. As the feature races starting times got close, lighting and rain was nearby, but it held off and the races were all completed. Nineteen cars took the green flag for the thirty lap feature. Scotty Scott had the pole and drove his number six hard and led briefly but could not hold off Jason and Justion Irwin of Albuquerque, NM. Jason started tenth in the feature and moved up quickly to take the lead. Jason also claimed the Trophy Dash earlier in the evening. Justin Irwin also led briefly until being overtaken by Jason. Those two cars were definately the class of the field Saturday evening. Scott who after having handling problems made some changes and found the track to his liking and finished third just ahead of Chris Cooper and Dustin Tilbury. Randy Irwin started the feature with one of the Irwin team cars to help fill the starting line up for the feature.

Joshua Jackson racing out of Albuquerque was the top qualifier earlier in the day. A couple of accidents in the feature claimed the #77 car of Brandon Moore and the #11 car of Trish Tilbury shortenen their race night in two separate accidents. Josh Richard's #36 car also suffered front end damage in a heat race but with the help of several people the car was repaired to race in the feature to a twelfth place finish.

The trophy dash race was won by Jason Irwin, Justin Irwin won the second heat race and Zach Witherwax a rookie, took his first checkered flag in Legend racing by winning the second heat.

I would like to thank all the drivers who raced Saturday night. Eight cars out of New Mexico helped make the Legends the largest field of cars at I-25 Speedway. Our last race of the seaon will be held September 9. Most of the top points cars in the RMLRA were on hand.

Corey Seip has taken over the points lead, with Scotty Scott twenty points behind. Brandon Moore in third, with Kyle Clegg and Ryan Jones in the top five. We still have eight scheduled races before the end of the season. The top two rookies, Ryan Jones and Zach Witherwax are separated by only six points.

The RMLRA will not race this coming weekend, but will return to the track at Colorado National for two straight races, August 11, 18.

The triple header at NAPA Speedway to be held August 3-4-5, will be held on the half mile track. The race scheduled for August 5 will have a starting time of approximately 1205 AM. This is in compliance with INEX rules. Yesterday the track was described as a flat half mile. There is very little banking in the turns, and the gears that are used at CNS would be the right choice.

30 Lap Feature results
1. Jason Irwin NM
2. Justin Irwin NM
3. Scotty Scott
4. Chris Cooper
5. Dustin Tilbury NM
6. Corey Seip
7. Pete Dellarco
8. Dave Hondel
9. Ryan Jones
10. Joshua Jackson NM
11. Shane Skaggs NM
12. Josh Richard
13. Sarah Skaggs NM
14. Zach Witherwax
15. Adam Pechman-2
16. Bill Blevins-2
17. Brandon Moore-19 DNF
18. Trish Tilbury-26 DNF NM
19. Randy Irwin-28 DNF NM

Trophy Dash
1. Jason Irwin
2. Chris Cooper
3. Joshua Jackson
4. Ryan Jones
5. Corey Seip
6. Dave Hondel

Heat # 1
1. Justin Irwin
2. Dustin Tilbury
3. Brandon Moore
4. Scotty Scott
5. Shane Skaggs
6. Pete Dellarco

Heat # 2

1. Zachary Witherwax
2. Sarah Skaggs
3. Adam Pechman
4. Trish Tilbury
5. Bill Blevins
6. Josh Richard-9 DNF