I-25 Results - 6/4/2011

posted Jun 5, 2011, 8:53 PM by Admin RMLRA   [ updated Jun 5, 2011, 9:02 PM ]
MEDINA WINS AT I-25 June 4, 2011

Danny Medina, veteran Legends driver won his second straight RMLRA feature of the young season last night at I-25 Speedway. This race track could be called his home track with all the races and practice laps that he has run at this track. Danny had quick time, (14.237) won the trophy dash and came home first in the feature. Chris Eggleston and Kyle Ray were right on his bumper waiting for him to make a mistake which never came. These three cars finished within 0.794 of a second. It was a good race to watch and all of our first year rookies raced hard and now have to figure out how to get their cars up to speed with some of the front runners.

A great crowd was on hand last night and thanks to all of you, the RMLRA had a good total for cars. If the Legends want to race at the I-25 Speedway and be successful, the support must be made by cars located in the Colorado Springs area. Last night the support of local drivers was there, as seventeen drivers were on hand last night to battle the heat and slippery track conditions. Many of our regulars this season are first and second year drivers. Thanks to them, our turnouts have been good so far this season.

There are still a couple of cars still sitting in the garages and we hope to see them soon.  Heat race winners last night were Brandon Moore and Eric Stedman. Medina winning the six car, ten lap trophy dash, followed by Ray, Eggleston, Scott, Griffith and MacEwen.

Two new drivers were on the track last night for the first time racing a Legend. Alan Jamnik driving the #01 car racing out of Pueblo, CO and Jon Kast of Lakewood driving the #4 car, formerly the #18 car of Kyle McCartney. Both drivers had problems getting up to speed and pulled out of the feature after several laps.Scott Griffith #29 of Colorado Springs also made his first 2011 appearance and finished fourth in the feature.

Eric Hipkins #52, Woodland Park, made his 2011 season debut in a newly painted race car. Good looking car Eric. The #34 car of Chris Cooper made contact with the wall after a car spun in front of him in practice last night. Many people jumped in to help get the car ready to race last night. Kevin Kurtz #44 broke a right rear axle and is looking for a used one if anybody has one.

During the second heat race last night five of the six cars on the track were first year Legend drivers.

RMLRA action will be back at Colorado National Speedway, June 11.

30 Lap Feature
1. Medina #15
2. Eggleston #22
3. Ray #58
4. Griffith #29
5. Scott #6
6. Dellarco #13
7. Cooper #34
8. Hipkins #52
9. Moore #77
10. Morris #23
11. MacEwen #85
12. Richard #37
13. Stedman #1 -1
14. Pechman #25 -5
15. Kurtz #44 DNF
16. Jamnik #01 DNF
17. Kast #4 DNF

Trophy Dash
1. Danny Medina
2. Kyle Ray
3. Chris Eggleston
4. Scotty Scott
5. Scotty Griffith
6. Cole MacEwen

Heat #1
1. Brandon Moore
2. Eric Hipkins
3. Mike Morris
4. Pete Dellarco
5. Chris Cooper

Heat #2 (unofficial)
1. Eric Stedman
2. Dave Richard
3. Adam Pechman
4. Kevin Kurtz
5. Alan Jamnik
6. Jon Kast