I-25 Speedway Results - 9/13/2014

posted Sep 15, 2014, 7:41 AM by Admin RMLRA   [ updated Sep 15, 2014, 7:42 AM ]

Weather Saturday was beautiful, Barlock wins 25 Lap Feature

Racing on Friday evening was very cold and not a lot of fun and perhaps three hundred people were in the grandstands to watch the racing event. On Saturday the RMLRA traveled to Pueblo to race and the summer weather had returned. I-25 Speedway was running their last race night of the season and had a very good crowd on hand and several divisions of race cars to close out their season. The RMLRA had a disappointing turn out on nine cars. I don’t want to seem so negative but several cars were banged up Friday evening at Colorado National Speedway and could not be repaired in time for Saturday’s racing at I-25. Several cars elected to set out the evening and not race. Perhaps next time these cars can show up and race. For those of you who raced Friday or Saturday evening, we thank you.

Nine cars qualified Saturday with Wayne Barlock JR with the quick time of 14.206. Mike Gallegos won the Trophy Dash and BreAnn Adkinson won the heat race. It was her first checkered flag driving a Legend. Congratulations BreAnn.

In the feature race it was a nine car invert start with Connor Snow racing in only his second Legend race electing to start last. During the first two laps of the race, the race was won when Mike Gallegos went low in turn three and four and Wayne Barlock went to the outside. The outside lane opened up and Wayne moved up and around Gallegos. Barlock then overtook the race leader Jessica Savage for the lead. The caution flag came out on the fifteenth lap when the seventeen car had something break and could not continue. With only one caution flag during the race Barlock never had a big lead on Gallegos. Bumper to bumper racing for most of
the race. Young Darrell Stewart finished right on the rear bumper for third place. The top three cars finished within 00.453 seconds of each other at the finish line. It was a good clean race.

Wayne Barlock now has a six point lead for the RMLRA championship with one more points race left to be raced. That race will take place September 27 at Colorado National Speedway. The RMLRA points championship will be decided during that race.

The RMLRA has an added race this coming weekend at Big Country and the lack of cars planning to attend may lead to canceling the event for the RMLRA. Since the race was not scheduled as a points race, the turnout of cars needs to be addressed. If you are planning to race at Big Country we need you to contact Dan Adkison to determine if we can have enough cars on hand to race.

Please contact Dan at danwyo@aol.com We need to know who plans to attend.

I-25 Speedway 25 Lap feature results (unofficial)
1. Wayne Barlock
2. Mike Gallegos
3. Darrell J. Stewart (R)
4. Adam Pechman
5. Darrell L. Stewart
6. Jessica Savage
7. Connor Snow (R)
8. Patrick Manchego
9. BreAnn Adkison (DNF)

!0 Lap Trophy Dash
1. Gallegos
2. Barlock
3. D. J. Stewart (R)
4. D. L. Stewart
5. Pechman

Heat Race 10 laps
1. Adkinson
2. Savage
3. Manchego
4. Snow (R) (DNF)