RMLRA Newsletter - 1/21/2012

posted Jan 23, 2012, 11:30 PM by Admin RMLRA   [ updated Jan 23, 2012, 11:37 PM ]
Saturday night the Rocky Mountain Legends Racing Association held their 2011 Awards Dinner at Rossi Catering in Wheat Ridge. Approximately sixty-six people were on hand for a very good meal and some fun and entertainment.

Special awards went to several drivers to start the evening off. The Young Gun Award went to #25 Adam Pechman. Adam was a first year rookie in the Young Lions division and raced in sixteen of the scheduled races.

he Best looking car was presented to #6 L. Scotty Scott. His black car with the bright lime colored number, with pin striping earned him the trophy.

CO-Sportsman of the year awards went to Jimmy and Bill Seip. Very active this year with their cars at the race track and having their cars on display at three car shows, and for helping to publicize the RMLRA.

The Hard Luck Award went to Craig Coughlin #71. Craig’s car received much damage this past season, and was limited to eight feature races this past season.

Most Improved Driver Award went to Chris Cooper driving his #34 coupe. Chris was a second year driver and ran strong most of the season.

Rookie of the Year award went to Cole MacEwen. Driver of the #85 car, he did a great job as a rookie. He ended up sixth in the final point standings this season and should be  moving up next season. Cole raced in seventeen of the RMLRA features this past season.

Awards were presented to the Tech Officials. John Ulander, Kyle McCartney and John Clute Jr were on hand to receive these awards. All three officials are certified INEX Tech officials. All of our drivers appreciate all the hard work that they do. It is a tough job and we thank them.

John Krizman was up next to explain the system that was going to determine the 2011 RMLRA Champion. In an earlier meeting last season it was decided by the drivers that the points championship would come about with a drawing and elimination of several races at the Awards Dinner. The drivers that attended the most races through the season would have an advantage. The only rule in place to be the champion was to start a feature at both tracks where we ran at. After thirteen balls were drawn each driver would have his lowest point race eliminated.

10th Chris Eggleston #22
9th Eric Stedman #1
8th Brandon Moore #77
7th Mike Gallegos #06
6th Cole MacEwen #85
5th Kyle Clegg #66
4th Pete Dellarco #13
3rd L. Scotty Scott #6
2nd Chris Cooper #34
1st  Kyle Ray #58 (2011 RMLRA Champion)

Winning the 2011 championship was twenty-four year old Kyle Ray. Racing a Legend in only his second year he gave thanks to all the good drivers that raced with him this past season. Kyle has raced Midgets on the asphalt and dirt, raced Sprint Cars, and won six state championships in Go-Karting. Kyle Ray’s occupation, he is a plummer and is employed by Roto-Rooter.

He made mention to the tight races at CNS where Kyle Clegg beat him by a few points for the CNS championship. Both Kyle’s look forward to racing against each other during the 2012 season.

At the end of the Award Dinner the 2012 RMLRA schedule was handed out. Twenty-one races are tentatively scheduled with twelve race at CNS, five at I-25, two at Hwy 92 in Gering and two races at Big Country. The races at Gering and Big Country will be back to back nights of racing. Gering, Nebraska will be a Friday night race and then moving over to Big Country for the Saturday night race. All these races have not been sanctioned as of tonight. More details and information to come. The schedule has been posted on the RMLRA web sie.