Legend Cars


It was in April of 1992 that the first Legends Car was unveiled at the Lowe's Motor Speedway. The concept of creating a fun and affordable "spec" class of racing for anyone to participate in was born. President and General Manager of LMS, H.A. "Humpy" Wheeler and Elliott Forbes-Robinson, famed road racing champion, designed these 5/8-scale fiberglass full-fendered versions of the famed NASCAR modifieds driven by legendary drivers such as Fireball Roberts, Buck Baker, Curtis Turner, Speedy Thompson and Banjo Matthews.

Since that time, the Legends Cars have become one of the fastest growing segments of motorsports today. With drivers being classified into four different divisions, Legends Cars is THE racing opportunity that is available to anyone! The Pro Division is for the experienced drivers. The Masters Division features drivers 40 years and older. The Semi-Pro Division is the novice class, featuring the drivers that are new to the sport or have been inactive in other forms of racing for a while. Then there is the Young Lions Division which is designated for the drivers between the ages of 12 and 16. Since the car stays the same from division to division, it is the driver that makes the difference!


These cars started racing in Colorado in 1994.  In 1995 there were 4 cars that started the season and raced at Big Country Speedway in Cheyenne WY, Beacon Hill (now I-25 speedway) in Pueblo, and the now defunct Second Creek, a road course that was east of Denver, and Mead, a road course north of Denver.  By the end of the season, a fifth car joined them.  In 1996 there were approximately 16 cars racing, growing to 20 plus by 1997.  We now have 48 racing cars locally.

The Legends Front Range Series (now the Rocky Mountain Legion Racing Association - RMLRA) started racing in 2003 at Colorado National Speedway.  Highway 92 joined the ranks in 2005.  Congratulations to our past champions, Nick Cooper, (2003), Anthony Medina (2004), Terry Plummer (2005), Chris Eggleston (2006), Terry Plummer  (2007), Kyle Clegg (2008), Wayne Barlock (2009) and Kyle Clegg (2010).  Many of these drivers continue racing their legends cars as well as cars in other divisions.  Their dedication, as well as all the drivers involved in the series has made the RMLRA a highly respected racing organization.

Legend Car Specifications